Skip to content

Praise for Getting It Off My Chest

October 24, 2009

Wow. A complete stranger approached me on Facebook and wrote this:

“After recently being diagnosed with breast cancer, i was looking for a book to take into hospital with me. i must have looked through at least a 150 best sellers when i came across ‘getting it off my chest.’ i read the first few pages and found myself laughing out loud in the middle of W.H Smiths. i am trying not to read much more because i am want to save it for when i go in on 3rd Nov. I love your sense of humour especially when you describe your thoughts on the mammogram. Thank you for writing the only book i have fancied reading for years.”

I was overwhelmed. It reminded me of why I wrote the book. And I pledge to the Nation (or anyone who’s actually reading this) that I will quadruple my efforts to get it out there so it can do its job. Cheering people up! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 5:30 pm

    I love this book too! There is enough doom and gloom in the world, we all need a good laugh, and Janice can make you laugh out loud, or lol as the young people say. thanks again Janice for a brilliant book x

    • Janice Day permalink*
      October 7, 2011 12:36 pm

      Thanks Gabby! Quick! Put your lovely words on Amazon as a review. You know how to do it? Go to the GIOMC page and click on reviews and then click on “write your own review”. I’m BEGGING you 🙂

  2. April 26, 2013 9:26 am

    Whoa Janice, just discovered you today. I want to write a funny, witty comment about your life and writing skills, but before your talent at comedy, I am entirely humble. Suffice it to say, I enjoyed ALL of your articles; haven’t readyour book yet but intend to, and will post the article on your cancer journey where I can see it every day to keep me on the right track. I actually cried when I read it, not sadness cry but “that’s for me!” cry, bullseye! The last 4 months I have researched and researched all aspects of breast cancer, you know the routine. I was diagnosed a couple of weeks ago had lumpectomy, now they are planning the radiotherapy and chemotherapy, hey! Let them plan! I have my own plan! I can dare! Sending you much love, sincerely and a massive thank you for sharing your story. xxxx

    • Janice Day permalink*
      April 26, 2013 2:41 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind words. It makes all that slaving over a hot laptop worthwhile. Just to know that you laughed, you identified and that you are feeling empowered to go forwards and upwards! Here’s to your long life and happiness. J x

    • Janice Day permalink*
      April 26, 2013 2:44 pm

      Oh and by the way, I am currently reading Chris Woollams fabulous book, ‘Everything you need to know to help you beat cancer’. Do get it. It gives exactly what it promises.

Leave a Reply

